Shock horror in the UK: Muslim discovers his favorite sandwich is not halal

Why is this even a story? Would the Mirror, or any of the other “news” outlets that have run variations of the article below, publish an article about an observant Jewish man who was unknowingly consuming pork, or a Hindu who accidentally ate beef? Of course not. But Muslim victimhood is a big business for Islamic advocacy groups in both the UK and the US, and in the absence of genuinely victimized Muslims, a Muslim eating the wrong sandwich because of a careless ingredient listing will have to do. If Allah is really compassionate and merciful, he’ll overlook Khalid Qadeer’s inadvertent transgression, but that possibility is nowhere mentioned.

Several years ago, Pamela Geller and I met with USDA officials and presented a petition to them asking that they require that halal products be labeled as such, for the benefit of people who objected to halal food for humanitarian, religious, or other reasons. Ultimately the USDA never got back to us and ignored our petition. But this incident will almost certainly lead to requirements in the UK that any trace amount of alcohol, no matter how small, must be included on ingredient listings.

“Mr Qadeer said white wine vinegar is ‘like a nut allergy’ for many Muslims as they have ‘zero tolerance’ towards it.”

No, it isn’t “like a nut allergy.” Muhammad says in a hadith that “a believer eats in one intestine, whereas a non-believer eats in seven intestines” (Sahih Muslim 2062), but in reality Muslims and non-Muslims are not physiologically different. Muslims do not, contrary to claims, generally get sick from eating pork or a negligible amount of alcohol. This preposterous claim is simply an attempt to advance the Muslim victimhood narrative still farther.

By the way, I myself have a nut allergy, and thus would break out in hives if I ever met Khalid Qadeer.

“Muslim man discovers Pret sandwich he has been eating for 12 years is not halal,” by Latifa Yedroudj, Mirror, August 13, 2019:

A Muslim man has discovered the Pret A Manger sandwich he has been eating for 12 years is not halal.

Khalid Qadeer, who works as a tax adviser in London, is a frequent customer at the food chain and would always opt for its signature tuna baguette sandwich.

However, the tax adviser was shocked to find out the sandwich contained white wine vinegar, after noticing the ingredient listed on a new printed label.

White wine vinegar is not considered halal in Islam.

Despite that, the ingredient is also not listed on fridge labels in store.

Pret has come under fire in recent months over the deaths of two customers who suffered allergic reactions from consuming the restaurant’s food.

They have since placed new labels containing a full list of ingredients on all Pret food products – and Mr Qadeer has slammed Pret for failing to mention white wine vinegar as a listed ingredient until now.

Mr Qadeer said white wine vinegar is “like a nut allergy” for many Muslims as they have “zero tolerance” towards it.

He told Metro.co.uk: “Being a Muslim I can’t consume anything with alcohol. And there’s probably thousands of Muslims who buy products from Pret.

“As most people know, some Muslims drink alcohol and the rest, but there is a certain percentage that will have a “oh what the f***” moment here.”

He added: “I’ve worked in the City for the last 12 years as a tax adviser and I would have never bought the product had I known.”…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *